Free Falling, as If in A Dream

Free Falling, as If in A Dream

The Story of A Crime

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.

From the grand master of Scandinavian crime fiction—and one of the best crime writers of our time—here is the final volume in the critically acclaimed Story of a Crime trilogy, centered on the assassination of Olof Palme in 1986.
It’s August 2007, and Lars Martin Johansson, chief of the National Bureau of Criminal Investigation in Sweden, is determined once again to reopen the dusty files on the unsolved murder of Prime Minister Palme. With his retirement quickly approaching, Johansson forms a new group, comprised of a few trustworthy detectives who doggedly wade through mountains of paperwork and pursue new leads in a case that has all but gone cold despite the open wound the assassination has left on the consciousness of Swedish society. But the closer the group gets to the truth, the more Johansson compromises the greater good for personal gain, becoming a pawn in the private vendetta of a shady political spin doctor.
A detailed and boldly plotted police procedural, Free Falling, As If in a Dream lifts the veil on one of history’s greatest unsolved crimes, bringing dark humor, suspense, and wit to bear on a case long thought to have no answers.

Baker & Taylor
A latest tale by the award-winning author of Another Time, Another Life finds Lars Martin Johansson investigating the unsolved 1986 murder of Swedish prime minister Olof Palme only to be seduced by his own ambitions and a shady political spin doctor. 25,000 first printing.

& Taylor

Lars Martin Johansson investigates the unsolved 1986 murder of Swedish prime minister Olof Palme, only to be seduced by his own ambitions and a shady political spin doctor.

Publisher: New York : Pantheon Books, c2014
ISBN: 9780307377470
Branch Call Number: PER
Characteristics: 589 p. : map ; 25 cm
Additional Contributors: Norlen, Paul R.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
ChristchurchLib Jun 12, 2016

Lars Martin Johansson is head of Sweden's National Bureau of Criminal Investigation, and he is obsessed with the unsolved murder of Prime Minister Olof Palme in 1986. Now, in 2007, he has reopened the case, perhaps to the detriment of his career, if not his life. The concluding volume in a trilogy that started with Between Summer's Longing and Winter's End, this exhaustively researched novel (based on a real crime) was shortlisted for the International Dagger in 2015.

Mar 30, 2014

Great end to a great trilogy about the Palme assassination. Well written from a great Swedish crime writer.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top