The Woman in the Window

The Woman in the Window

A Novel

eBook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
124
6
4
 …
Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller! ?Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.? —Gillian Flynn ?Unputdownable.? —Stephen King ?A dark, twisty confection.? —Ruth Ware ?Absolutely gripping.? —Louise Penny For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house. It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . . Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors. Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare. What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems. Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.   
Publisher: [S.l.]: HarperCollins, 2018
ISBN: 9780062678447
Branch Call Number: CLOUDLIBRARY EXPRESS
Characteristics: 464 p
Additional Contributors: cloudLibrary

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
SUSUBradley
Jun 15, 2019

Again another book I couldn't put down. What a story.

d
Dexter_Morgan
Jun 08, 2019

Lots of twists and turns. Very enjoyable.

r
rnsimcoe
May 24, 2019

I have tried on two separate occasions to read this book, and I can never get past the first page. The story is too simple and cliche for me.

v
VLSGarnerJ
May 17, 2019

6

a
astrotea
May 08, 2019

It started to get a bit slow for my liking towards the middle, although chapters were very short and easy to read. I thought they did a good job unveiling key plot points as it went on and I enjoyed the ending.

e
empbee
Apr 29, 2019

Fast and tense read. You guess at each turn of events who is who and what is fantasy and reality. A good psychological thriller.

j
JANMAYS
Apr 20, 2019

Did for book club, some liked, some did not. I enjoyed it.

b
Blabbermouth
Apr 18, 2019

I was surprised that this book got such positive reviews, although it certainly pulled you in, in the beginning. The story of a woman who has developed agoraphobia, drinks copious amounts of alcohol, will not take her drugs as directed & watches her neighbors through her windows. One day she sees someone dying. After that she tries to get someone to believe her about what she saw but people are covering things up. It didn't seem that believable to me.

Such an interesting perspective! If you're looking for a book you won't be able to put down, look no further.

m
MarshMeyer
Apr 06, 2019

Forget the "controversial author", this was a real page turner of a book. I enjoyed the characters and the story development very much. I recommend this book be read and enjoyed regardless of the concern about whether the author made up or exaggerated some things about his own life. It is not often that I find myself so intrigued by a story and the characters within it that I read a book in 2 days, but this was one of those.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
abbi_g
Jan 01, 2019

I must have said this out loud. 'What doesn't matter?' he asks. You, I think. I don't say it. Instead I hang up.

ArapahoeMaryA Aug 23, 2018

'Help,' I shout, only it’s a whisper, creeping through my throat on tiptoe, smearing itself across my tongue. 'He-elp,' I try again; this time my teeth bite into it, sparks raining from my mouth as though I’ve chewed a live wire, and my voice catches like a fuse, explodes. I scream.

p
Pigmama6
Jul 01, 2018

"As Bernard Shaw said, I often quote myself; it adds spice to the conversation. As Shaw also said, alcohol is the anesthesia by which we endure the operation of life. Good old Shaw."

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

"Watching is like nature photography: You don't interfere with the wildlife.” - p. 4

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about.”
 —Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“My head was once a filing cabinet. Now it’s a flurry of papers, floating on a draft.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
j
jessebraydon
Nov 04, 2018

jessebraydon thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

r
red_fox_1318
Jun 04, 2018

red_fox_1318 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

PimaLib_DavidaL May 17, 2018

PimaLib_DavidaL thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
j
JGesellchen
Jul 09, 2018

May 2018 Book Club

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top