The Winemaker's Wife

The Winemaker's Wife

A Novel

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
Champagne, 1940: Inès has just married Michel, the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau, when the Germans invade. As the danger mounts, Michel turns his back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the Résistance. Inès fears they'll be exposed, but for Céline, half-Jewish wife of Chauveau's chef de cave, the risk is even greater--rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fate. When Céline recklessly follows her heart in one desperate bid for happiness, and Inès makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator, they risk the lives of those they love--and the champagne house that ties them together. New York, 2019: Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced, insisting on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive--and a tragic, decades-old story to share. When past and present finally collide, Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauveau.
Publisher: New York : Gallery Books, 2019
ISBN: 9781982112295
Branch Call Number: HAR
Characteristics: 389 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
d
darladoodles
Aug 06, 2019

A toast to Kristin Harmel for the sparkling facts we have learned about making champagne. It is an industry that many know only from afar -- perhaps just an occasional wedding toast. Clearly there was a large amount of research done to produce this novel. There are POV: Liv in the present; Elas and Celine in the past (beginning in 1939). The combination of the champagne business and the resistance was an aspect of the war that was unknown to me previously. It was fascinating to see the two couples (Michel & Elas; Theo & Celine) working together and the ways they responded to the pressures of the business, the stresses of living in a time of war and especially their reactions to the resistance. Some of the characters really frustrated me. I'm not sure I always understood why they made the decisions that they did. That may be just the nature of living in wartimes and not indicative of a lack in character development. In the end, Harmel pulls it off with some tears and cheers. Well done. Will definitely appeal to fans of "The Nightingale" and "The Lost Girls of Paris."

Thank you to Gallery Books and NetGalley for a digital ARC in exchange for an honest review.

debwalker Jul 30, 2019

Wine + Nazi-occupied France + the French Resistance + love = good reading.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top